Penelope Wilton

Penelope Wilton

  • Born on
    • June 3rd, 1946
Penelope Wilton (b. 1946) is a common name in British Theatre for which she has been nominated for the Laurence Oliver Award several times. Furthermore, she is a known name for all her work in British Television as well, most recently as a consistent part of 'Downton Abbey' on ITV.


Acting (36 Credits)

2022Operation Mincemeat
2021Downton Abbey 2 as Isobel Merton
2020Summerland as Older Alice
2019After Life as Anne
2019Eternal Beauty as Vivian
2019Downton Abbey as Isobel Merton
2018The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society as Amelia Maugery
2017Zoo as Denise Austin
2016Brief Encounters as Pauline
2016The BFG as The Queen
2015The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel as Jean Ainslie
2015Downton Abbey: Christmas Special 2015 as Isobel Crawley
2013Belle as Lady Mary Murray
2012The Girl as Peggy Robertson
2011South Riding as Mrs Beddows
2011The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel as Jean Ainslie
2010Downton Abbey as Isobel Crawley
2008Doctor Who - The Christmas Invasion as Harriet Jones
2007Five Days
2006The History Boys as Mrs. Bibby
2005Match Point as Eleanor Hewett
2005Pride & Prejudice as Mrs. Gardiner
2004Shaun of the Dead as Barbara
2003Calendar Girls as Ruth
2001Iris as Janet Stone
1999Wives and Daughters as Mrs. Hamley
1999Tom's Midnight Garden as Aunt Melbourne
1998Alice Through the Looking Glass as White Queen
1995Carrington as Lady Ottoline Morrell
1992The Borrowers
1992Blame It on the Bellboy as Patricia Fulford
1987Cry Freedom as Wendy Woods
1986Clockwise as Pat Garden
1984Ever Decreasing Circles
1981The French Lieutenant's Woman as Sonia
1977Joseph Andrews as Mrs. Wilton


Take Plex everywhere.

Watch free anytime, anywhere, on almost any device.

  • Roku
  • Samsung
  • Amazon Fire TV
  • Android
  • Apple TV
  • Apple iOS
  • Chomecast
  • XBOX
  • nVidia
  • Vizio
  • PlayStation
  • LG

See the full list of supported devices